2014 American Rhodes Scholars By School

Thirty -two students from the United States were named Rhodes Scholars, the winners are selected on the basis of high academic achievement, personal integrity, leadership potential and physical vigor, among other attributes. These students will receive scholarships, worth about $50,000 per year, to enter Oxford University next October. The students can complete up to three years of study with these scholarships.

Rhodes, Scholar, scholars, Oxford, College

We’ve broken down the list of American Rhodes Scholars based on the school they attend in the US. The thirty-two students come from 20 different schools. Check out the list below to see if your school has any!


Jessica Wamala, Milford, N.H., Villanova University


Alexander Joel Diaz, North Bergen, N.J., Harvard University

Elizabeth Hockfield Byrne, Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University

Katherine Elida Warren, Bainbridge Island, Wash., Harvard University

Paolo Poggioni Singer, Bronx, N.Y., Harvard University

Andrew Scott Lea, Richland, Wash., Harvard University

Aurora Catherine Griffin, Westlake Village, Calif., Harvard University


Isabel Emma Eggleston Beshar, Rye, N.Y., Yale University

Vinay Nayak, Oak Brook, Ill., Yale University

Suzanna Marie Fritzberg, Lake Forest Park, Wash., Yale University


Evan Barrett Behrle, Oxford, Penn., University of Virginia

Charles Samuel Tyson, Chapel Hill, N.C. University of Virginia


Alexander Gerard Wang, Doylestown, Penn., New York University, Abu Dhabi


Timothy Michael McGinnis, Charlotte, N.C., Princeton University

Adam Mastroianni, Monroeville, Ohio, Princeton University


Brian Westfall McGrail, Arlington,Va., Williams College


Emma Pierson, Arlington, Va., Stanford University

Meredith Lukens Wheeler, Fort Collins, Colo., Stanford University

Miles William Unterreiner, Santa Barbara, Calif., Stanford University


James O’Connell, Tampa, Fla., Wake Forest University


Lindsay Evans Lee, Oak Ridge, Tenn., University of Tennessee, Knoxville


Melissa Loreice McCoy, Dallas, Texas, Georgia Institute of Technology


John Mikhael, Dallas, Texas, Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyCourtney Wittekind, Mason, Ohio, Carnegie Mellon University

Calla Glavin, Birmingham, Mich., United States Military Academy

Erin Alexandra Tanith Mauldin, Albuquerque, N.M., United States Military Academy

Clarke Knight, Henderson, Nev., Smith College

Zarko Perovic, San Diego, Calif., University of California, Berkeley


Drew Alan Birrenkott, McFarland, Wisc., University of Wisconsin


Samuel Martin Greene, Spring Green, Wisc., University of Chicago


Donald Mayfield Brown, Vicksburg, Miss., Mississippi State University


Joshua Allen Aiken, Eugene, Ore., Washington University, St. Louis